Ya 2013, Hop in. Happy New Year.

For the past 1 week or above there had been these questions that constantly lingered in my head, “What should I do on the new year?What should I be doing when the clock ticks 12 on 31st December? How should I welcome 2013?” I could not get a proper answer. It was not that I always welcomed new year with a bash and a kiss as the clock bangs to 12 with fireworks lighting up the sky. In fact, I can recollect very clearly how I have spent my earlier ‘New Year’s Eve midnights’ or at least of the past 4-5 years. Let me see,

Dec 31st 2008: I was in my living room, with my table lamp and television on. I remember watching some media coverage of a discotheque. Full of hot girls and dance moves, it was too hot to be played with volume.

Dec 31st 2009: I guess I was in a relationship this time. I remember talking on the phone the entire night. So basically I welcomed the 2010 by burning my brains with my phone’s radiation.

Dec 31st 2010: I was no more in a relationship. Having went through a break up just 3 months back I spent my entire time with my desktop and codes.

Dec 31st 2011: Having swore to my life that I will never fall in love again, I was still working. I remember myself sitting on the bed with a laptop as I could see people howling outside at the tick of 12.

Tonight:
Well, I tried to make various plans for tonight. Beach parties, pubs, discotheques or even just a huge hotel where I can find a good attractive crowd of the opposite sex. Anything from those would do, and I was totally excited to go for it. However on the morning of the last day of 2012 I was pretty sure that nothing huge was going to work out. So I just gave a middle finger to life and planned to sit down and work some extra hours. As I was leaving from the office, my friend called me up and said that some of them are outside my company waiting for me to join them for a spontaneously planned dining party.

Even though my plans were definitely huge than a dining party but c’mon a dinner with friends is better than sitting inside my room with my laptop. So I went for it. After a pathetic sweet corn soup and an over-colored dish, we started having fun with the usual jokes, sarcasms and more jokes.
Earlier that day when my ex-manager wished me for the new year as she was leaving office today, she also asked me what my plans were for tonight. When I said nothing she just said “Do anything but coding. At least for tonight.” God I must have such a nerdy impression on everybody. But, hey, fuck it.

So here I was away from my laptop and the blue screen, with my friends having dinner. On my way to room my roommates told me to get chicken. As we got home we prepared chicken and soon enough we were eating chicken, having fun, and some of them even getting themselves a bit drunk.
Before it was 12, I knew I was thinking about 1 person the most. No matter how hard I try to not think of that, there is always this one person lurking in your head. But at the tick of 12, all of us huddled together and started hopping around with loud asynchronous shouts of Happy New Year. That bit of craziness totally flushed out the lurking person from my head. As we sat down and started devouring whatever was in front of us, I tried recollecting all my past new years. The last 5 years or above I spent my New Year’s mid night with TV, or a Phone, or a desktop, a laptop, basically anything but humans.
Of course this time there were no disco lights, DJs, hot girls, a crazy crowd, but still considering my past track record of new year celebrations, this was better. And oh yes, New Years Resolution. I thought about it, and like all previous new years I am not going to fall for that stupidity.

So as an ending note … (though this is rather ironic to be an ending note), Happy New Year everybody.

Leave a Reply

